Churchwood Valley is a beautiful, natural wooded valley running down to the sea at Wembury Bay in South Devon, near Plymouth. Look closely and, hidden among the lush green foliage, you’ll see wooden cabins nestling on the hillside.
Each holiday cabin has its own plot on the hillside, surrounded by trees, flowering shrubs, hedges and rustic fences. All our cabins have views across the valley, with some looking out over the water meadow or towards the sea.
There’s a car parking space near each cabin and private roads and paths give access to the beach, an unspoiled stretch of rock pools and shingle with sand at low tide. Adjoining National Trust land, the beach is no more than a 10-minute stroll away from any of the cabins.
Up to two well-behaved dogs are welcome in each cabin for a small charge, there are dog exercise areas on site and plenty of space for canine roaming locally.
This Churchwood-style cabin accommodates up to four people in one double and one twin bedroom with a bath and shower/shower only. This unit has a modern kitchen with a good sized fridge-freezer and microwave. A TV and DVD player are provided to add some cosy entertainment to your stay. Providing high levels of affordable comfort, this cabin is located in a popular part of the site, and has a secluded patio with views across the valley.
A haven of peace within an environmental paradise, Churchwood Valley is a few minutes’ walk from a safe family beach and the South West Coast Path.
If ‘getting away from it all’ is the most important part of your holiday – Churchwood Valley is for you. Each holiday cabin is nestled within the woodland. By moving no further than your armchair, you’ll see delightful displays of birdlife, and a trip to your private patio may well afford a glimpse of badgers, foxes, squirrels, and other wildlife.
There are no discos, bars, or cafes – just rock pools, wildlife, and breathtaking scenery. Secluded it may be, isolated it is not. Churchwood’s licensed shop sells a wide range of food and drink, beach toys, gifts, and many other products, so you don’t even need to leave the site for those ‘essential’ items. We also have a fully equipped launderette. If you feel the need for a more extensive shop, or have a taste for the bright lights, the city of Plymouth is just a 20 minute drive away.
4 |
The noisiest thing about Churchwood are the birds! This is not a site for people looking for lots of onsite activities and that’s exactly why we chose it. The layout of the site gives a feeling of seclusion and peace, yet it’s also a great base to go off exploring. My granddaughter loved the rock pools down at Wembury Beach and you can jump in the car to explore the busier beaches along the coast if that’s what you’re looking for. I have a feeling that we’ll be back again next year!
5 |
If you want a quote, relaxing holiday this is the place for you. The well equipped, cozy cabins are beautifully maintained, totally private, not overlooked and all have a view. The staff and owners are friendly and always on hand for any emergency or need. The beach is a short walk away and with private parking, but not suitable for very disabled but manageable for most. An added attraction for us, in close proximity to the beach is the convenience of a lovely café; ice cream shop and toilets. Further afield is Plymouth with its interesting history, coastal walks and NT properties to visit and Dartmoor just around the corner. As a family, we have been coming for approximately 20 years and by the end of this year the fourth generation Will be getting ready for his first experience of Churchwood Valley.
5 |
Alles wunderbar. Wir konnten unseren Aufenthalt genießen.
4 |
The cabin was clean, tidy, and well equipped. Lovely to be surrounded by nature and a nice picnic area outside to enjoy your meals. Short walk to the beach! Loved seeing the squirrels, horses, and birds up close. Our dog enjoyed his little pup break! Definitely recommend!
5 |
*"Absolutely amazing place with a beautiful view and top-notch customer service. The staff were friendly, welcoming, and very attentive. The atmosphere was relaxing, and everything was well taken care of. Highly recommend for anyone looking to enjoy great service in a lovely setting!"*
5 |
We had a great time. The cabin was comfortable and well equiped. Everything was very clean and we could enjoy our time in Churchwood Valley. The staff is very nice and willing to help and there was nothing to complain about.
5 |
We have stayed at Churchwood for many many years, first visit with parents at least 40 years ago.We love the peace and quiet in natural surroundings.Ideal location for those who want to stay put or explore along the coast.We are booked again to stay over Christmas and New year for the third year runningSpot the little fury friend peering in the window....Looking forward to returning
3 |
The location was good but accessibility to it was very poor, alright as a one off but going out every day got tedious. The staff were very friendly always polite and helpful. The lodge was as described clean and well equipped. one thing that needs changing is the TV, have not seen one so small for a long time. Trying to watch Wimbledon was almost impossible. Chairs in lounge could be a bit more comfortable but acceptable. The bathroom was very good. The small patio area was very overgrown with weeds, needed tidying and a few plants putting in. Parking was poor always worried car would get scratched. Nice to be able to walk down to the beach from lodge. It was not particularly good value for money as stayed in a lodge on a quiet site in Devon a month earlier for a similar price much more modern. There were nice places to visit in the area National Trusts and Plymouth was easy to get to, especially if you used the Mountbatten ferry. Nice pub/restaurants in area, especially Eddystone Inn.
Hello,thank you for your feedback in respect of your recent stay. We would like to address some of the points which you raised:Firstly, we are gradually upgrading the TVs at the cabins and if you had a particular issue, we would have tried to source a larger TV for you. Similarly, if you were unhappy with your nearby parking spot, we could have suggested an alternative which was perhaps more to your liking.We are sorry that the outside space was not to your taste-we strive for a good balance between maintaining a natural feel to the surroundings whilst ensuring that the landscape is not completely overgrown, and lastly, we obviously cannot comment on your recent stay elsewhere, other than to say that we feel we offer good value given our unique setting and close proximity to the beach.All in all, we hope that you will consider a return visit, whereupon we will try to offer something a little more to your liking.
3 |
Very difficult to park your vehicle, accommodationNeeds updating very basic
Thank you for taking the trouble to leave a review in respect of your recent stay.We are sorry that the cabin was not to your liking - we regularly review the decor and furnishings at our cabins but it would seem that this time the accommodation you had fell short of your expectations. If you had any issues with the parking space which was near your cabin, we could have suggested somewhere else nearby for your vehicle. Perhaps, given your comments, Churchwood was simply not for you, but if you consider visiting us again, please have a chat to us prior to booking and we will do our best to offer a cabin which you enjoy.
5 |
Especially appreciated the friendly staff
4.6 |
98% would recommend this accommodation
96.1% would stay here again
5 |
68 | |
4 |
28 | |
3 |
5 | |
2 |
1 | |
1 |
0 |